Gaimanian Avettonian Music

17 05 2013

“My vacations ending, I’m coming home late. The weather was fine and the ocean was great, and I can’t wait to see you again.”

 

Actually my vacation is over. But as I sat here thinking about how to break the sad news to you all that I would be resuming blogging activity, that little snippet popped into my head.

I have a varied taste in music. I suppose I listen to just about everything and I do mean everything from old hair bands to new age electronic, Scottish folk to Zimbabwe death polka. I’m everywhere.

The above line is pulled right out of ‘The Ballad of Love and Hate’ by the Avett Brothers. That song in particular is one of my favorites from a writerly perspective, being clever in form and story.

The premise?

As the opening line of the song tells us, “Love writes a letter and sends it to Hate.”

And of course it goes on from there, a back and forth between Love, who is on her way home and Hate, who is waiting for her in his own…uplifting way to come back.

I’m not going to tell you anymore because I don’t want to deprive you of discovering the story on your own. I’m just going to step back and close this short blurb into the space by saying two things.

  1. Go listen to this song.
  2. I’ve returned from vacationland and am now firmly ensconced at the keyboard in case you missed it.

Talk to you later internet.

Oh and as an addendum to 1, if you enjoy what you heard, maybe you might give a thought toward buying it?

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

