The Good, The Undead, and The…Horny?

6 10 2012

BECAUSE THERE ARE UNICORNS. Ha! Oh, fooled you there. That was the classic bait-and-switch. Works every time. Most of the time. Okay, usually I’m not very good at it but I’m feeling pretty confident today so I’m calling you fooled!

I’ll just dive right into while you sit down and recover. Grab a cup of tea, maybe some coffee or an adult beverage of some sort. Put your feet up, shut your eyes, relax. You’ll get over it.

Short stories. What can I say about short stories? I can’t tell you what the draw has been lately but I’ve been blazing through shorts like crazy. Which kind of sounds like something a lot more hip then I would be into. Hey man you ready to go blaze some shorts? Yeah bro, BERMUDA FIYAA!

I imagine it’s a class D misdemeanor.

The tales of less than novella length though? Totally into those. The target of today’s review: Zombies vs. Unicorns. It’s an interesting collection of tales focused on one or the other a la dueling banjos. The two authors responsible for compiling the tales within offer witty banter as a sort of small forward to each entry in the collection.

The proteins and tubers are what you would expect them to be. While I’m partial to zombies to begin with, the unicorn stories offered a unique contrast and the sometimes, ‘so good I could vomit’ characters in said horned pony tales set me up craving another zombie entry that hopefully featured a horde devouring one of the damn things.

Admittedly there is an entertaining unicorn entry or two but, typically speaking, I was more excited to read about the undead. This could be me. Sometimes it is about me. Like right now. But what about later today or next week? WELL IT WILL PROBABLY BE ABOUT YOU THEN. STOP SHOUTING AT ME.

Regardless of the short you looked at, the quality overall was excellent. Each author in the collection offered what I would call unique pieces and each offered a voice that was distinctly their own. I would recommend any of them for further investigation. What? No, not of the criminal kind. I mean their work. See what else they write. You might thank me. Or not. Look into it, send me hate mail. Whatever.

Seriously though, I didn’t feel like I was trudging through any of the book and that is one of my biggest concerns. Reading should not require titanic amounts of effort. If your book requires overwhelming amounts of energy to simply keep up with caring about the plot then I’m going to avoid that thing like a freaking iceberg.

HAHA, see what I did there? Titanic? Iceberg? Ladies and gentlemen I’ll be here all night! Tip your wait staff, they have to eat too!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

