The Ones You Don’t Talk About

27 08 2012

I’ve been prepping some books for review this past month. I have to tell you though that these aren’t what you might call mainstream choices. I must concede that perhaps one of these made the New York Times best sellers list. However, that certainly does not make it the sort of piece you’re going to see everyone reading. So what are they? Why should you care?

Because they’re off the beaten path dear friend. These aren’t the books you bring to book club. Unless, possibly  if Ted Kaczynski is a member. Maybe. I can’t say for sure since I didn’t really know the guy personally. Regardless, they aren’t going to be winning any of those fancy Oprah’s book club ribbons or what have you.

You may be asking yourself right now for some examples. That’s fair.

 

A Bit of Scifi

 

25 For 25 (eBook)

A collection of 25 short stories all set in the fictional universe that serves as the backdrop to a popular table top war game. Yeah. War game. As in fancy toy soldiers. DON’T JUDGE ME! Slams the door to parent’s basement.

SERIOUSLY though. I got into these because I do actually play this game. It was only a matter of time before I started to explore the background materials. In all honesty the team of writers employed by the developer, Games Workshop, actually create some pretty good stuff. It’s an unexpected mix of science fiction and early religion.

Not two things that would have immediately demanded to be paired together in my mind but it works splendidly.

 

A Bit of Crazy 

 

Survivors-FrontCover36DPI.jpg

Great paranoid conspiracy writer, Batman! That’s survival fiction!

I’ve mentioned at some point on the blog that I do believe in a certain measure of preparedness. But I come from a country that experiences many earthquakes a year. These things are so strong that they have leveled large chunks of urban real estate!

I don’t own a bunker. I don’t have a food stockpile. I don’t own a wilderness retreat in the midwest complete with livestock and a garden that feeds 50. (I just don’t have the money right now.)

Say what you will about expecting disasters but the author, James Wesley Rawles, knows what he’s doing. This novel, at the time of posting, was third on the NY Times best sellers list for hardcover books.

 

Braaaaaaaaiiiiinnnnns.

 

Zombies vs. Unicorns. Do I even need to say more? Seriously? Do I?

I don’t think so.

Each one a different beast with one common theme. Good books that perhaps not everyone would see on a bookshelf and think “Hey, I might pick that up today.”

Each one will be getting a bit of lovin’.

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 08 2012
Purji

Seriously, read Survivor by Chuck Palahniuk. You will be most happy.

29 08 2012
Kyllan Brindle

With a title like “Survivor” I imagine I might be quite the opposite but I will check it out anyways!

Leave a Reply

