The March East I

2 06 2012

I’ve lost some roots I think. Well, maybe not lost but they’ve certainly grown further from me. I didn’t grow up where I live now. It was thousands of miles from here in fact. Not so far as say, the moon but most certainly not as close as New Jersey.

Here’s the short of it. I’m learning Japanese.

My father is fluent, the lousy old man. My sister? Fluent? At the very least, incredibly competent. Myself? None of the above. When we left Japan I was twelve. I had only just started to receive a more focused education in the language. But then we moved to New York.

That’s the state, not the city. And yes, there is a difference.

It’s cows. Lots of cows. (And graffiti. Down-state they do buildings not cows.)

But I digress.

In recent weeks I have encountered not one but two people who have raised the subject in conversation. One was a fellow who lived there for a few years, like I did. He encouraged me to continue the study, independently, formally – anyway at all. Long as I did. I took him seriously.

I looked into self teaching books and made purchases. I reasoned that such tools, coupled with my fluent family members I would indeed make excellent progress. I have yet to begin as of this post’s publication. Due only to the speed by which the mail travels.

There are a lot of things that I miss about my home country and as much as I’d like to be able to move back, take a trip back, anything, it isn’t in the cards right now. So I’ll just stick to learning the language that I always expected I would. (The sudden absence of any teachers here caught me entirely off-guard. The things you don’t think about when you’re young.)

Hindsight forced me to acknowledge the fact that I hadn’t taken every opportunity to experience what was around me. Don’t get me wrong, my family and I experienced the hell out of that country. But there were programs that my sister was involved in that I never even considered that really amounted to me not seizing every single bit of what was a fantastic childhood abroad.

It was still the greatest I ever could have hoped for. This is me reclaiming lost opportunities.

It’s one step closer to home I should say.

The first of many.

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 06 2012
Vividhunter

Good luck! I’ve been learning Japanese for a long time now and it’s a fun language, with a big community of learners so there’s a lot of free stuff online. ^^ I wrote a post about the resources I’ve found most useful, if you want some ideas of where to find stuff. http://procrastinationdiaries.wordpress.com/2012/03/23/the-11-best-resources-for-learning-japanese/

3 06 2012
Kyllan Brindle

Thanks, A bit of luck can’t possibly hurt! I checked out the programs in your post and I’m thinking some of these will most definitely come in handy. I appreciate you stopping by, and for dropping such a great bit of wisdom on your way through!

Leave a Reply

