The Ringleader Needs a Suggestion

12 12 2011

What has two thumbs, a keen sense of fashion sense as it pertains to vests and nothing to read?

This guy!

Too strange? Yeah, I thought so too. And yet for some reason I decided to do it anyways. But hey, its ok because I’m in charge of this little circus. I’m that guy standing on the crate labeled “Toxic Ferrets” in the center ring with a beaten up top hat and dusty, red leather coat. In one hand a diamond tip cane, in the other a giant microphone – old boxing style, hanging from the ceiling.

Now, without further interruptions or postponement, allow me to direct your attention to the far ring to the left of the flaming elephant trolley where you will find my point.

I recently finished the book I was devoting my reading time to and I’m in the market for a new one. Not necessarily a new book mind you but new to me. My reading conquests span a great length of time: Sci Fi from the 60’s, fantasy from the 80’s, literary fiction from the 00’s. It doesn’t matter.

I’ve started a list. The top of it is a book I’ve already been harassed about. The Vixen has nudged me toward The Scarlet Pimpernel on more than one occasion. Though, I’ll be honest, I’m not too keen on checking out a classic right at this point in time.

What else? There is a rather engaging (from what I’ve been told) book that Bert from work turned me on to. It’s what you might call a self-help manual. If you consider formal instruction on the finer points of wielding a tomahawk in close combat self-help. Which I do. Unfortunately, right now, I’m not overly excited about it.

That brings me to my third choice thus far. Ringworld by Larry Niven. I’ve been perusing the internet lately reading about Niven. The “Known Space” series he wrote sounds like something right up my alley. I’m a child of Science Fiction and it doesn’t hurt that the setting for these novels bears a striking resemblance to a game franchise I’m rather fond of.

And as a final offering to the ever bloating to-read list I submit Shotgun Gravy, a novella penned by the most tipsy penmonkey, Chuck Wendig. And yes, I said novella. They are just as delicious as any novel length work. They simply stand on different merits. Learn it, appreciate it and it will treat you well.

Now the problem is making a decision. I don’t like to do that, choices make me sad. It’s why I get the same thing whenever we order Chinese, without fail. Singapore Mei Fun, extra red peppers. What of it?

Anyway, point is, I decided to reach out. I’m up to 22 followers here, yup – 22 people who posses a high enough tolerance to read the electronic ink stains that I drag across the screen on a periodic basis. So drop me a line – what do you think? Any item on that list stand out from the rest? Or is there something not on there that you think I just can’t go without reading?

Plenty of comment space. Do it. I want to hear from you. Seriously, DO IT.

Actions

Information

10 responses

12 12 2011
thundergoes

I can’t claim to have ready any of them, but Shotgun Gravy is a fan-freaking-tastic title, and Ringworld sounds intriguing.

12 12 2011
Kyllan Brindle

Wendig does have a way with words. There’s an excerpt up on his blog for shotgun gravy which is worth checking out. He has a very distinctive voice that lends itself well to his style of writing.

I like the engineering concepts in Ringworld. That’s the biggest draw – concept of what life would be like on a Dyson ring. That’s some interesting science, check it out sometime.

12 12 2011
Ermilia

I think Robert Asprin’s Myth series was from the 80s. The two best are Myth Conceptions and Another Fine Myth. (First and Second in the series, but I don’t remember which is which). The second novel starts with apprentice magician Skeeve trying to keep his pet dragon and pet unicorn from waking up his hung over demon mentor who lost his powers thanks to some joke powder. It is side splitting hilarious.

Eliabeth

12 12 2011
Kyllan Brindle

I will definitely look into those. I do enjoy a good life from my novels from time to time. Sir Terry Pratchett is one of my favorites. The Skeeve plot is really selling me.

12 12 2011
Ermilia

Skeeve is a riot. Some of the novels are better than others, so after the first two it’s a little hit or miss, but I wouldn’t rank any of them below 3. I don’t think I’ve finished the series, but I’d say I’m around book 7 or 8-ish.

Terry Pratchett’s Monstrous Regiment is one I cannot reread too many times. It is one of my all time favorite novels. I don’t know why I haven’t picked up any of his other works yet. What would you recommend?

13 12 2011
Kyllan Brindle

The one I always recommend is Reaper Man. Death is one of my favorite characters in the series and this book puts the spot light on him. There is also a hysterical subplot involving the staff of Unseen University who of course, always create memorable moments.

Another one I like to suggest is Night Watch which has a more serious tone than any of the other books. The main plot follows Watch Commander Vimes through a nitty gritty detective story with a nicely polished Discworld twist.

13 12 2011
Ermilia

Thank you, I’m adding them to GoodReads. I think I own Discworld, I just have to figure out which box it’s in.

13 12 2011
Ermilia

Have you read the whole Death trilogy? Death Trilogy: Mort / Reaper Man / Soul Music (I love GoodReads! but my bank account does not)

13 12 2011
Kyllan Brindle

Indeed I have. My book shelf is old friends with all of the Discworld novels. It was the first series of books that I collected in it’s entirety. Though a great deal of them inhabit my kindle these days. Which does sit on my bookshelf.

13 12 2011
Ermilia

I don’t know that I have any collections in their entirety yet. Well, I have the Mercedes Lackey “The Heralds of Valdemar” Trillogy but I keep falling in love with series like “The Cat Who” by Lillian Jackson Braun (I hope I spelled that right) which seems endless.

Question: when you’re not “moonlighting as whatever the hell will pay the bills” do you write book reviews? I saw “This Ain’t Your Little Sister’s Vampire Book” but nothing else in the what you’re reading section. I’ve got a fantasy novel you may or may not be interested in and we’re scheduling bloggers to participate in a book tour in March. E-mail ermilia@live.com.au if you’d like to learn more so I don’t take over your comments section.

Thanks

Leave a Reply

