Where the Heck Have I Been?

26 09 2011

So I feel a bit like my head may explode. Seriously, explode.

Driving is something that I enjoy. It’s not for everyone but I like it. Today however, I am avoiding it like the plague.

The Vixen is a family loving sort of lady. She’s big on keeping in touch with relatives, attending family functions whenever possible. Maintaining close ties with relatives. And that is what we spent the first part of our weekend doing. A cousin of hers invited us to her wedding down in Sometown Connecticut. (That’s not a real place. Witness protection doesn’t post the locations to their safe houses online you know.) We thought a bit about how we would handle the traveling. Would we go down and back same day, find a hotel and come back another?

We opted for the first choice. Because we’re nuts of course. I arrived home Friday after work around 11:30, was in bed by 12:30 and was up at 3 A.M. to get on the road. That seems like plenty of sleep to drive back home on later that day doesn’t it? Three cheers for espresso, Red Bull and some else in the car to talk to. I’m surprised my heart doesn’t explode.

The wedding was quite an event. It was the first time I have attended a Catholic wedding that I could remember. I had been the ring bearer in one other but I was young and didn’t remember that they are a long and involved affair. The church was ornately decorated complete with all manner of statue and brightly-colored glass. There was sitting, standing, kneeling and standing, sitting and kneeling again. Prayers, offerings hand-shakings singing and kissing.

The reception was by far the best I’ve been to and I’ve been to several weddings. It was the first time I’ve seen traditional polish dancing in person and was that something to watch.

The drive back was arduous and full of caffeine and route recalculations. I missed a couple of turns and an exit or two but that’s to be expected when traversing unknown roads right?

After the hospital finishes claiming more of my time this evening I will sit and craft a proper blog post. One that is not so short and general. You deserve more than that dear readers.

Until next time.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

