Silver from the Past

18 09 2011

Something strange happened to me the other day. Something that was entirely unexpected. I’m still not entirely sure what to make of it.

But first I have to say, I feel old. And I’m going to say it again. I feel old. Old. OLD.

I didn’t imagine that I would be hearing young people say, “Oh I remember you from school!” Until after I had entered the final, pre mid-life crisis decade of my life. But it happened. Only a quarter century and it’s happened to me twice.

The last instance was random, a fellow who was in sixth grade the year that I graduated from high school. I was standing in the lunch line at work trying to guess which of the mystery items before me was the chicken Kiev when suddenly a new face in the kitchen blurted it out, and wanted to know if I remembered him.

As it turns out I don’t recall any of the names or faces of those who were in sixth grade when I graduated. Go figure. But that’s not important.

The first time it happened was with a coworker. A fairly new face to the Office of Hate and Trickery. Yes that is where I work. It’s a bit of a complex gig, a lot of paperwork in between receiving scarring tongue lashings and playing with puzzles. So it’s a bit what I imagine Hell might be like only less, ‘cubicly’.

 Yes she is one of the main exports of Bolivia and Peru. She can be primarily in ores of copper, copper-nickel, lead, and lead-zinc. Yes, she’s up to $49.76 an ounce, Denarii. No, she isn’t a coin, that’s just her witness protection tag.

We had a chat. The night was going a bit slow and the conversation some how found it’s way to school. She had remembered me, just as that fellow at lunch would eventually. (Remember we are talking pre-lunch guy at this point)

A few nights ago we were working together again and got on the topic of an old teacher. Mr. Reefer, who gets his name from all the crazy amounts of weed he apparently smoked while teaching children. I KNEW it! There was no way his behavior was anywhere close to normal! a specific sort of gardening he enjoys. And I realized that hey, a teacher has come and gone. So I asked about others I knew when I was there, some remained, some  not.

I realized that I had a bit of a fondness for the place. Though I wasn’t a huge fan of a great deal of school while I was in it, it stands to reason that I was too busy being young and stupid to realize that I was being young and stupid. And that’s okay. That’s the way the proverbial cookie proverbially crumbles.

For the longest time I maintained a belief that I didn’t enjoy earlier years. But part of what I am recently discovering is that a lot of those days were good. Really good. Where at one time there seemed to be nothing but downs, I realize there were some ups in there too. It takes a bit of time to develop an accurate lens through which to view the past. Mine is only just starting to be polished.

So what’s the point? I don’t honestly know. Things aren’t always as bad as they seem? Kids are dumb? Books and covers and all that? Maybe. Or maybe I just feel like rambling. What do you think? Have you ever looked back on something and wondered why you reacted as you did? Could you figure it out?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

